Can I change my course type after it has been published?
Once a course is published, it can't be returned to its "draft" state.
However, you can copy the course, and the new copy will be in draft format. Once in draft format, you can change the course type. You can then use the new, copied version of your course and delete the other course.
Just be careful, because deleting is permanent!