Ruzuku Payments - Subscriptions: overview (Stripe)

If you have a Ruzuku Up-and-Comer subscription and your Stripe account is integrated with Ruzuku, you can offer your students a monthly or annual payment subscription to your course through your Stripe account, integrated through Ruzuku. 

Note: These are subscription payments and will continue to be charged to your students’ credit card unless you or they cancel the subscription.

Here’s an overview of how Stripe subscriptions work in Ruzuku. Detailed step-by-step instructions are provided in other resource articles.

Creating and Offering a Subscription

Within your course, create a Price Point by naming it (e.g., Full price Subscription), and then selecting “Subscription”. Fill in the amount to be paid, and select either “every Month” or “every Year”. Then click Save Price Point.

If you wish, you can offer discounted subscriptions by creating a Coupon attached to the Subscription price point. Coupons can apply to the first payment, a set number of payments, or all payments in the subscription.

Once the subscription has been created, provide the link to the Price Point or Coupon to your students to come to Ruzuku, set up their subscription, and enroll in your course.

The student will receive a payment receipt after each monthly or annual payment. Individual payments from each student on a Stripe subscription will be listed on the Students Dashboard of the course, in the Payments section, with Payment Status "Succeeded".

Failed Payments and Cancelled Subscriptions

Students will automatically receive an email notification if any regularly-scheduled payment fails to be processed through your Stripe account. Stripe will attempt to charge your student’s credit card according to the default or custom calendar schedule you have programmed in your Stripe account.

Failed payments will appear on the Students Dashboard of the course, in the Payments section, as “payment attempt” and will show the attempt number, “1 of 3”, “2 of 3”, “3 of 3”.

If the student’s payment fails after 3 attempts, you and he/she will receive a final email notification, and the cancellation will be displayed on the Students Dashboard Payments section. Your student will not, however, be automatically removed from the course. You may remove the student from the course at your discretion by using the Remove From Course button in the Students Dashboard.

If your student cancels his/her subscription payment, you’ll be notified by email, the cancellation will be displayed on the Students Dashboard Payments section, and the student will automatically be removed from the course at the end of the payment period. For example, if the student has paid through July 31, then he/she will be removed from the course at the end of day on July 31.

You can cancel a student’s subscription from the Students Dashboard Payments screen. Cancelled subscriptions cannot be reinstated after cancellation.

Refunds and Course Reactivations

You can refund subscription payments from the Students Dashboard Payment screen.

You can reinstate a student previously deleted from the course by clicking the Activate Student button in the student detail of the Signups screen.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us